Skin Geek: BB Cream 101

If you haven’t already heard some of the buzz on BB creams, I’ll be buzzzzzzzzing on you right now.

So, what are BB creams? If you think of this stuff as a miracle cream, think twice. But if you think of it as a one-step makeup time saver then you’re on the right track.

BB Creams are simply a mash up of several products you’re probably already applying. Based on a formula developed in 1968 by a German doctor whose name I forgot, BB creams are multi-taskers that combine skincare ingredients with moisturizer, primer, foundation and SPF. Also referred to as beauty balms or blemish balms, they became wildly popular in Korea when a famous Korean actress credited one for her flawless complexion.

BB creams can be used on their own, or as a base (like primer) for regular foundation. They generally come in one or two shades designed to suit a wide range of skintones. Choose #1 if you have fair skin (For light skin, this shade is also appropriate but instead of giving your skin a lighter tone, it will give you a more flawless effect instead). Choose #2 if you have natural beige skin.

I get most, if not all, of my skin products online for the reason that malls here in Iloilo limit me to known drugstore brands only. I’m a big fan of Skinfood and when I spot products that I haven’t tried yet, I get my jig on. But before I let my shopaholic persona get the best of me, I first ask a lot of questions about the product and if I feel convinced enough to grab my wallet, I look for trial sizes. Ehe 🙂 That is why it’s such a blessing to have found MsLoren GuiltfreeBeauty Splurge on Facebook!

Miss Loren is a very lovely and nice lady, in fact too nice that she gives me advice about skin products. Having a transaction with her is easy-peasy, no order forms required. Meet-ups are no sweat, no trouble and if she has a minute or two, she’ll chat with you. 🙂

Anyway, I bought Skinfood Red Orange Jelly BB Cream in trial size since she recommended this product for me.

I bought 3 of these for P100 only because it was included in her Summer Sale so YAAAAY! 🙂 I was so excited to try it out that after I got my orders from her I opened the package while riding the taxi on my way back to the office. Lol (Pictures were taken, of course, not in the taxi but in my house)

The texture of this the Red Orange Jelly BB Cream is just like pudding where it’s semi solid in the container but upon application or when it comes in contact with heat, it melts into a liquid that get absorbed by your skin almost instantly. I love it because I have oily skin and it keeps my skin hydrated without the excess sebum.

Skinfood Red Orange Jelly BB Cream Shade #1
(Upon application)

 (Melts when applied to the skin)

(Gives a smooth finish)

My fesss when I first tried out this BB Cream 😀
(That’s moi on the left)

What I love about this BB Cream is its smell. The scent is a soft citrus-orange, so fresh! Just how I expected it from all Skinfood products.

Other products I bought from Miss Loren were: Skinfood Peach Sake Pore Serum and Skinfood Salmon Eye Brightening Cream plus she gives freebies! I was so lucky because she gave me Innisfree’s Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask which I am starting to love by the way because it’s super effective!

‘Til my next post!
Ta! 🙂

 

3 Comments

Filed under Tracy

3 responses to “Skin Geek: BB Cream 101

  1. Well researched articles. Very informative and helpful to skin-care enthusiasts. Excellent! =)

Leave a Reply

